The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) leads the Federal anti-hunger effort with the Food Stamp, School Lunch, School Breakfast, and the WIC Programs.


The National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), part of the executive branch of the Federal Government. Congress created NIFA through the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008. NIFA replaced the former Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service (CSREES), which had been in existence since 1994.

National EFNEP

The CSREES’ Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a unique program that currently operates in all 50 states and in American Samoa, Guam, Micronesia, Northern Marianas, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. It is designed to assist limited-resource audiences in acquiring the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behavior necessary for nutritionally sound diets, and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of the total family diet and nutritional well-being.

Family and Consumer Sciences

Family and Consumer Sciences (Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service) – This link is your guide to all the AgriLife Extension programs that are under the auspices of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Services’s Family and Consumer Sciences and covers topics such as: Families, Child/Day Care, Military Support Programs, Clothing/Textiles, and other topics.

Department of Nutrition & Food Science

EFNEP is a part of the Department of Nutrition & Food Science at Texas A&M University in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.


[back to top]

Last updated: 9 December, 2014

Educational programs of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service are open to all people without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, genetic information or veteran status. The Texas A&M University System, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the County Commissioners Courts of Texas Cooperating.